House of Representatives


General Assembly of the Alabama


BEGUN and held in the Town of St. Stephens, in said Territory, on the nineteenth day of January, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and eighteen; pursuant to the Proclamation of his Excel'y. Wm. W. Bibb , Governor of the aforesaid Territory of Alabama in conformity to the act of Congress of the United States, passed on the third day of March, one thousand eight hundred and seventeen, entitled "An act to establish a separate Territorial Government, for the Eastern part of the Mississippi Territory;" it being the day appointed by the aforesaid Proclamation for the meeting of the Legislature of the Alabama Territory , the following members of the House of Representatives appeared, produced their necessary credentials and took their seats, to wit :


From the County of Washington- Messrs. A. S. Lipscomb and John F. Everitt.

From the County of Madison- Messrs Gabriel Moore, Hugh McVay, John W. Walker, and Clement C. Clay.

From the County of Clarke- Messrs. John McGrew, and Neil Smith.

From the County of Baldwin - Mr. Henry B. Slade,

From the County of Mobile- Mr. Alvan Robinshow.

And a quorum consisting of a majority of the whole number of members being present, the house proceeded to the choice of a chairman ; whereupon, Mr. A. S. Lipscomb, a representative from Washington County was duly chosen and accordingly conducted to the chair.

On motion of Mr. Clay

Resolved, that the house proceed to the appointment of a clerk pro. Tem. whereupon I. R. Nicholson was appointed.

On motion of Mr. Moore,

Resolved, that the house do now adjourn until to-morrow ten o'clock, A. M.