MONDAY, August 2, 1819.

The Convention met pursuant to adjournment.
Mr. Clay from the committee appointed to superintend the enrolling of the Constitution, reported that the committee had according to order performed that duty, and had directed him to report that the Constitution was duly enrolled.
On motion of Mr. Hitchcock, Resolved that the President and members from the several counties, do now sign, and the Secretary attest the same.
Whereupon it was signed and attested as follows:

J. W. Walker, President of the Convention, and Representative from Madison County.

Madison County-Clement C. Clay, John Leigh Townes, Henry Chambers, Lemuel Mead, Henry Minor, Gabriel Moore, John M. Taylor,


Monroe County- John Murphy, John Watkins, James Pickens, Thomas Wiggins
Blount County-Isaac Brown, John Brown, Gabriel Hanby.
Limestone County-Thomas Bibb, Beverly Hughes, Nicholas Davis.
Shelby County-George Phillips, Thomas Ames Rogers.
Montgomery County-John Dandridge Bibb, James W. Armstrong.
Baldwin County-Harry Toulmin.
Mobile County-S. H. Garrow.
Washington County-Israel Pickens, Henry Hitchcock.
Tuscaloosa County-Marmaduke Williams, John L. Tindal.
Lawrence County-Arthur F. Hopkins, Daniel Wright.
Franklin County-William Metcalf, Richard Ellis.
Cotaco County-Thomas D. Crabb, Melkijah Vaughan.
Clarke County-Reuben Saffold, James Magoffin.
Cahawba County-Littlepage Sims.
Conecuh County-Samuel Cook.
Dallas County-William R. King.
Marengo County-Washington Thompson.
Marion County-John D. Terril.
Lauderdale County-Hugh M’Vay.
St. Clair County-David Conner.
Autauga County-James Jackson.

Attest, John Campbell, Secretary of the Convention.

On motion of Mr. King Resolved, that the Secretary of the Convention be instructed to deposit the enrolled Constitution in the office of the Secretary of State.
Mr. Pickens (of Washington) offered the following resolution, Resolved, that the thanks of this Convention be presented to John W. Walker, President thereof, for the dignity, ability and impartiality, with which he has discharged the arduous duties of the chair.
And the question being taken thereon, by the Secretary, it passed unanimously in the affirmative.
Mr. President then rose and delivered the following address:
“Gentlemen-I receive with lively sensibility this fresh testimonial of your favour: while I have life, I shall never cease to cherish a grateful recollection of the united kindness and support of this enlightened Convention. It affords me sincere gratification to find that the manner in which I have been enabled to discharge the duties of the chair, has been satisfactory to you; and for the polite and flattering terms in


which you have chosen to express your approbation, I tender you the return of warm and cordial thanks.
The subject on which we were called to deliberate was of the first importance. Our labours are now at an end. We have given to the State of Alabama a Constitution-not indeed perfect-not precisely such as any one member of this body or perhaps of any individual of this community, would, unassisted, have framed in his closet:-Yet emphatically republican and such as gives us a clear and indisputable title, to admission into the great family of the Union. If it has some faults, it has at the same time, many excellencies; and for all its defects it carries within itself the grand corrective of amendment. The people can mould it as they please. It proclaims the great first principles of liberty: It guards the equal rights of all, and some new features of vital interest seem to promise the happiest results. The offspring of mutual concession and compromise, it occupies that middle ground on which a majority was found to unite. In the main we have all approved and signed it. Let us hope that it will be also approved by the people of Alabama: and that under its auspicious influence, they and their posterity, may long be free, prosperous and happy.
Accept gentlemen for yourselves individually, my best wishes for your health, happiness and long continued usefulness.”
On motion of Mr. Pickens (of Washington) ordered that the Convention do now adjourn sine die.
Whereupon it was adjourned by the President accordingly.


Secretary of the Convention.