38708-1:N:04/19/2001:JTS/jts LRS2001-15080

By Senator Mitchem
Rd 1 26-APR-2001


WHEREAS, it is with highest commendation that the Alabama Legislature recognizes Timothy Neal Bishop of Albertville, Alabama, as recipient of the Good Government Pharmacist of the Year Award sponsored by the APhA Political Action Committee Board of Governors; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Bishop also is recognized for his outstanding leadership as the former president of the Alabama Pharmacy Association, exemplary service on the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy, and his efforts to ensure the passage of legislation, including the Equal Access Bill and the Uniform Drug Card Bill; and

WHEREAS, he was the only Alabama pharmacist to consecutively serve on two state boards, the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy and the Alabama State Board of Public Health; was instrumental in the passage of a bill that allowed pharmacists to immunize; and exemplified the highest standards of professionalism as a member of the Advisory Committee and the Alabama Project for Public Education of AIDS; and

WHEREAS, over the years, Mr. Bishop was recognized by former President Bill Clinton and former Attorney General Janet Reno for his outstanding work with Americans with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, a 1971 graduate of Auburn University, Mr. Bishop is President of the Auburn Pharmacy Alumni Association and currently owns and operates Bishop's Pharmacy, Vitalcare Home Infusion Company, and Bioscreen Industrial Drug Screening in Marshall County, Alabama; he is married to his loving and supportive wife, Peggy, and they are the proud parents of a son, Matthew; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That Timothy Neal Bishop is hereby commended and congratulated upon his selection as the Good Government Pharmacist-of-the-Year Award and, by copy of this resolution, extended sincere best wishes for future endeavors.

Resolutions, Congratulatory
Bishop, Timothy Neal