16th District
(Jefferson, Shelby)

State House:

Room 726
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130
(334) 242-7892
(334) 242-2278
Business: Post Office Box 660609
Vestavia Hills, Alabama 35266-0609
Phone: (205) 978-7405
Fax: (205) 978-7406
Home: 1829 Mission Road
Birmingham, Alabama 35216
(205) 822-7443
Email Senator Jabo Waggoner

Senator Waggoner, born in Birmingham, Alabama, on January 8, 1937, is serving his sixth term in the Senate after serving from 1966-1983 in the House of Representatives. Senator Waggoner, President, Birmingham Business Consultants, LLC, received his B.A. degree from Birmingham Southern College and his J.D. degree from Birmingham School of Law. He and his wife Marilyn are the parents of four children: Scott (deceased), Mark, Lyn Waggoner Kilpatrick, and Jay.

Senator Waggoner is a Republican and a member of the Homewood Church of Christ. He serves on the following boards: Executive Committee of Birmingham Business Alliance; Faulkner University Board of Trustees; Member of Birmingham, Hoover, Shelby County, Vestavia Hills Chambers of Commerce; Member Vestavia Hills Civitan Club; Inducted into the Birmingham Southern College Sports Hall of Fame, 2007; Greater Birmingham Convention and Visitors Bureau; Alabama Sports Hall of Fame; and Pinnacle Bank. He served as head coach of the Birmingham Touchdown Club and was president of the Birmingham Tip-Off Club.

Senator Waggoner was elected Senate Minority Leader from 2002-2010.

Senator Waggoner was elected Senate Majority Leader on December 8, 2010.

Senator Waggoner has the longest record of service, of any legislator from Jefferson County, in Alabama history.

Recipient of the Ronald Reagan LIfetime Achievement Award, 2012.

Senator Waggoner has also received the following awards:

  • 2012 Greater Birmingham Association of Home Builders Housing Hall of Fame
  • 2013 Alabama State Council on the Arts Special Council Award
  • 2013 Birmingham Southern College Alumni of the Year
  • 2013 Subcontractors Association of Alabama - Outstanding Legislator of the Year
  • 2013 Birmingham-Southern College Distinguished Alumni Award Honoree

Elected by the Alabama Republican Executive Committee to serve as an Elector in the 2012 Presidential Campaign.


Alabama State Senate  |  Alabama State House
11 South Union Street  |  Montgomery, AL 36130
General Information: (334) 242-7800