

1
Τ

SYNOPSIS:

Under existing law, the Alabama Private

Investigation Board is responsible for the licensing
and regulation of private investigators in the state.

This bill would further establish education and work experience requirements for applicants in order to qualify for a private investigator license.

This bill would clarify those fees collected by the board that must be deposited into the Alabama

Private Investigation Board Fund.

This bill would provide further for the qualifications for licensure as a private investigator.

This bill would provide further for criminal history background checks for applicants for licensure.

This bill would authorize the board to grant inactive status to licensees and to provide, by rule, for a procedure and fee to reinstate an inactive license.

This bill would provide for administrative penalties against any individual practicing without a license.

This bill would require licensees to report arrests to the board within 72 hours.

This bill would clarify that the number of hours of continuing education required to maintain licensure



is 16 hours during the two-year license period.

This bill would create a private investigator apprentice license that would allow apprentices to gain work experience through an internship.

This bill would authorize the board to issue a private investigator license to a licensed private investigator apprentice who successfully completes an internship in a specified time and passes an examination.

This bill would also require private investigation agencies that do business within the state to be licensed by the board and meet certain requirements.

Section 111.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, prohibits a general law whose purpose or effect would be to require a new or increased expenditure of local funds from becoming effective with regard to a local governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote unless: it comes within one of a number of specified exceptions; it is approved by the affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to the entity for the purpose.

The purpose or effect of this bill would be to require a new or increased expenditure of local funds within the meaning of the amendment. However, the bill does not require approval of a local governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to become effective



57 because it comes within one of the specified exceptions 58 contained in the amendment.

59

60

A BILL
TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT

64

65 66

67

68

69

70

71

72

73

74

75

76

77

78

79

80

81

82

83

84

85

86

87

Relating to the Alabama Private Investigation Regulatory Act; to designate as Article 1, Sections 34-25B-1 to 34-25B-29, inclusive, Code of Alabama 1975; to amend Sections 34-25B-2, 34-25B-3, 34-25B-4, 34-25B-7, 34-25B-10, 34-25B-11, 34-25B-12, 34-25B-13, 34-25B-14, 34-25B-17, 34-25B-18, 34-25B-21, 34-25B-22, and 34-25B-26 of the Code of Alabama 1975, relating to the Alabama Private Investigation Board; to add Section 34-25B-12.1 and add a new Article 2, commencing with Section 34-25B-50 to Chapter 25B, Title 34 of the Code of Alabama 1975; to require applicants for private investigator licenses to complete education and work experience; to clarify those fees collected by the board that must be deposited into the Alabama Private Investigation Board Fund; to provide further for the qualifications for licensure as a private investigator; to provide further for criminal history background checks for applicants for licensure; to authorize the board to grant inactive status to licensees and to provide, by rule, for a procedure and fee to reinstate an inactive license; to provide for administrative penalties against any person practicing without a license; to require licensees to report arrests to the board within 72 hours; and to clarify that the number of hours of continuing education



- 88 required to maintain licensure is 16 hours during the two-year
- 89 license period; to license private investigator apprentices
- 90 and allow apprentices to gain work experience through an
- 91 internship; to provide for licensure of apprentices as private
- 92 investigators after completing certain requirements; and to
- 93 provide for licensure of private investigation agencies that
- 94 do business in the state; and in connection therewith would
- 95 have as its purpose or effect the requirement of a new or
- 96 increased expenditure of local funds within the meaning of
- 97 Section 111.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022.
- 98 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:
- 99 Section 1. An article heading is added before Section
- 100 34-25B-1 of the Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:
- 101 ARTICLE 1. Private Investigator Licenses, Private
- 102 Investigator Apprentice Licenses, and Private Investigation
- 103 Board.
- 104 Section 2. Sections 34-25B-2, 34-25B-3, 34-25B-4,
- 105 34-25B-7, 34-25B-10, 34-25B-11, 34-25B-12, 34-25B-13,
- 106 34-25B-14, 34-25B-17, 34-25B-18, 34-25B-21, 34-25B-22, and
- 107 34-25B-26 of the Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as
- 108 follows:
- 109 "\$34-25B-2
- 110 As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have
- 111 the following meanings:
- 112 (1) BOARD. The Alabama Private Investigation Board.
- 113 (1) (2) FELONY. A criminal offense that is defined and
- 114 punishable under the laws of this state, or an offense
- 115 committed outside the State of Alabama, which if committed in
- 116 this state, would constitute a felony under Alabama law; a



- crime in any other state or a crime against the United States
 which is designated as a felony; or an offense in any other
 state, territory, or country punishable by imprisonment for a
 term exceeding one year.
- 121 (2) (3) PRIVATE INVESTIGATION. The compensated act of
 122 any individual or company engaging in the business of
 123 obtaining or furnishing information with reference to any of
 124 the following:
- a. A crime committed or threatened against the United States or any state or territory of the United States.
- b. The identity, habits, conduct, business, occupation,
 honesty, integrity, credibility, including, but not limited
 to, the credibility of a person an individual giving testimony
 in a criminal or civil proceeding, knowledge, trustworthiness,
 efficiency, loyalty, activity, movement, whereabouts,
 affiliations, associations, transactions, acts, reputations,
 or character of any person individual.
- 135 stolen property.

c. The location, disposition, or recovery of lost or

- d. The cause or responsibility for fires, losses,

 accidents, damages, or injuries to <u>persons</u> individuals or to

 property.
- (4) PRIVATE INVESTIGATION AGENCY. A corporation, firm,

 partnership, or other business entity that, for compensation,

 practices private investigation in this state and employs

 licensed private investigators. The term includes a business

 entity that practices private investigation through licensed

 private investigators who are solely independent contractors



rather than employees.

(3) (5) PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR. a. A person An individual who, for compensation, performs one or more of the private investigation services defined and regulated by this chapter.

- b. A person An individual who, for consideration, advertises as providing or performing private investigation. The term does not include an informant who, on a one time or limited basis, as a result of a unique expertise, ability, or vocation, and who provides information or services while under the direction and control of a licensee of the board, that would otherwise be included in the definition of private investigation.
- c. A person An individual who is engaged in private investigation—as defined herein and who is licensed in accordance with this—chapter article.
- 160 (6) PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR APPRENTICE. An individual who
 161 is engaged in private investigation under the supervision of a
 162 licensed private investigator and who is licensed in
 163 accordance with this article."

164 "\$34-25B-3

An individual may not No person shall practice private investigation or hold himself or herself out to the public as a private investigator or private investigator apprentice or use any term, title, or abbreviation that expresses, infers, or implies that the person individual is licensed as a private investigator or private investigator apprentice unless the person individual at the time holds a valid license to practice private investigation as provided in this chapter



- 173 <u>article</u>. All applicants shall pass a criminal background check 174 based on criteria established pursuant to Section 34-25B-4."
- 175 "\$34-25B-4

- (a) There is created the Alabama Private Investigation
 Board. The <u>appointing authorities shall coordinate their</u>

 <u>appointments to assure the membership of the board shall</u>

 <u>reflect is inclusive and reflects</u> the racial, gender,

 geographic, urban and, rural, and economic diversity of the state.
 - (b) Private investigator members—provided for herein shall have had five years of experience as an investigator prior to his or her appointment. Beginning on August 1, 2018, each private investigator—members who are member appointed to the board shall have been licensed pursuant to this chapter as a private investigator for a period of at least five years prior to his or her appointment.
- (c) The following members shall be appointed to the board:
 - (1) Three persons individuals appointed by the Governor, two of whom shall be private investigators in this state and one of whom shall be a consumer who will represent the public at large. The Governor shall appoint the three members to initial terms of three years. Thereafter, successor members shall be appointed for terms of four years each.
 - (2) One <u>person_individual</u> appointed by the Lieutenant Governor, who <u>must_shall</u> be a private investigator. <u>The Lieutenant Covernor shall appoint the member for an initial term of two years. Thereafter, successor members shall be</u>



appointed for terms of four years.

- (3) One <u>person_individual</u> appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives who <u>must_shall</u> be a private investigator. <u>The Speaker of the House of Representatives</u> shall appoint the member for an initial term of two years. <u>Thereafter</u>, successor members shall be appointed for terms of four years.
- (4) One <u>person</u> <u>individual</u> appointed by the Attorney

 General who <u>must shall</u> be a private investigator. <u>The Attorney</u>

 General shall appoint the member for an initial term of two

 years. Thereafter, successor members shall be appointed for

 terms of four years.
- (5) One—person_individual appointed by the Alabama

 State Bar Association who—must_shall be a member in good standing—for an initial term of four years. Thereafter, successor members shall be appointed for terms of four years of the bar.
- (6) One <u>person_individual</u> appointed by the Alabama Private Investigators Association who <u>must_shall</u> be a private investigator. The association shall appoint the member for an <u>initial term of four years</u>. Thereafter, successor members shall be appointed for terms of four years.
- (d) Following the initial appointments, all successor

 All members of the board shall be appointed for a term of four
 years and shall serve until their successors are appointed and
 qualified by subscribing to the constitutional oath of office,
 which shall be filed with the Secretary of State.
 - (e) Any vacancy occurring on the board shall be filled



- by the appointing authority of the vacating member for the unexpired term.
- 231 (f) No member may be appointed to succeed himself or
 232 herself for more than one full term three consecutive full
 233 terms.
- 234 (g) The appointing authority may remove a member of the
 235 board for misconduct, incompetency, or willful neglect of
 236 duty. The board may recommend to the appointing authority
 237 suggested administrative actions that may be taken against a
 238 board member for missing an excessive—amount_number of
 239 meetings.
 - (h) Each member of the board shall receive a certificate of appointment from the Governor before entering upon the discharge of the duties of office."

243 "\$34-25B-7

240

241

242

- (a) There is hereby created in the State Treasury for 244 245 the use of the Alabama Private Investigation Board a 246 fund to be known as the Alabama Private Investigation Board 247 Fund. All application and license fees, penalties, fines, and 248 any other funds collected by the board under the provisions of 249 this chapter are to related to private investigators, private 250 investigator apprentices, private investigation agencies, and 251 the implementation of this chapter, shall be deposited in this 252 fund and used only to carry out the operations of the board. 253 The fees that the board may charge, collect, and deposit into the fund shall include, but not be limited to, all of the 254 following: 255
 - (1) An application fee for an original license and for



- 257 an inactive status certificate. 258 (2) A renewal fee for a license and for an inactive 259 status certificate. 260 (3) A reinstatement application fee. 261 (4) A late renewal fee. 262 (5) A change of information fee. 263 (6) A replacement license fee. 264 (7) An inactive license fee. 265 (8) An issuance fee for a private investigator license, a private investigator apprentice license, or a private 266 267 investigation agency license. (9) Reasonable and necessary administrative fees that 268 269 reflect the actual cost of services provided. 270 (b) No monies shall be withdrawn or expended from the 271 fund for any purpose unless the monies have been appropriated 272 by the Legislature and allocated pursuant to this chapter. Any 273 monies appropriated shall be budgeted and allotted pursuant to 274 the Budget Management Act in accordance with Article 4, 275 +commencing with Section 41-4-80+, of Chapter 4 of Title 41, 276 and only in the amounts provided by the Legislature in the 277 general appropriations act or other appropriations act. There 278 is hereby appropriated to the Alabama Private Investigation 279 Board the sum of all monies collected and deposited into the Alabama Private Investigation Board Fund for each of the 280 281 fiscal years ending September 30, 2013, and September 30, 2014, to be used for the operations of the board. 282 (c) All expenses incurred by the board in implementing 283
 - and administering this chapter shall be paid out of the fund,



285 provided that the expenses of the board shall not exceed the
286 amount of monies in the fund."

287 "\$34-25B-10

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, it shall be unlawful for any person individual to act as a private investigator or private investigator apprentice without first obtaining a license from the board. For prosecution purposes, a violation of this chapter is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than six thousand dollars (\$6,000) and imprisonment for up to one year.
- (b) Each <u>person</u> <u>individual</u> licensed in accordance with this <u>chapter</u> <u>article</u> shall designate to the board a physical address where his or her records are to be kept."

"\$34-25B-11

- (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), an An application and all information on an application for licensure as a private investigator, private investigator apprentice, or private investigation agency shall be treated as confidential and shall be filed with the board on forms prescribed by the board. The application shall include all of the following information of the applicant:
 - (1) His or her full name.
- 308 (2) His or her date and place of birth.
- 309 (3) All residences during the immediate past five 310 years.
- 311 (4) All employment or occupations engaged in during the 312 immediate past five years.



313	(5) Three sets of classifiable fingerprints or
314	electronic fingerprints or criminal history background
315	information, or both, as approved by the board for initial
316	<u>licensure</u> .
317	(6) A list of convictions and pending charges involving
318	a felony or misdemeanor in any jurisdiction.
319	(b) The board may publish the name of a licensee and
320	his or her license number, date of licensure, and license
321	status on the website of the board and in any licensee
322	directory printed or distributed by the board. Additionally,
323	with written permission of the licensee, the board may release
324	or publish contact information for a licensee, including his
325	or her email address, website, telephone number, and address."
326	"§34-25B-12
327	(a) Each individual applicant for a license as a
328	<pre>private investigator shall meet all of the following criteria</pre>
329	that he or she:
330	(1) Is at least 21 years of age.
331	(2) Has successfully completed a criminal history
332	background check based on criteria established by the board.
333	(2) (3) Has not been declared by any court of competent
334	jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease
335	unless a court of competent jurisdiction has subsequently
336	declared the applicant competent.
337	$\frac{(3)}{(4)}$ Has not been convicted of a crime of moral
338	turpitude, with the board having the final determination on
339	the interpretation of moral turpitude.

Page 12

 $\frac{(4)}{(5)}$ Has not been convicted of a felony crime.



341 (5) (6) Has passed an examination to be administered 342 twice annually by the board designed to measure knowledge and 343 competence in the investigation field and in state civil and 344 criminal privacy laws. (b) A study guide shall be provided to any applicant 345 seeking to obtain an initial or renewal license under this 346 347 chapter. 348 (c) Any investigator currently holding a business license in the State of Alabama shall not have to meet the 349 initial application requirements of this chapter, but shall be 350 issued a license pursuant to this chapter upon application. 351 352 (7) Has a minimum of two years' experience, education, or training, or a combination thereof, including 120 hours of 353 354 practical field experience directly related to private 355 investigation, in any of the following areas: a. Special investigations, consisting of special 356 357 investigative experience in insurance, fire or arson, banking, 358 legal, or similar setting, or other special investigatory 359 experience as determined suitable by the board. b. Law enforcement, consisting of experience as a sworn 360 361 law enforcement officer, investigative experience as a 362 detective or investigator at the federal, state, or local 363 level, or other investigative experience as determined 364 suitable by the board. 365 c. Education, consisting of a minimum of a two-year 366 degree in a field of study directly related to private investigation including, but not limited to, criminal justice, 367 political science, criminology, or law enforcement. 368



372 "\$34-25B-13

- (a) Upon receipt of an application for a license <u>as a private investigator</u> pursuant to this chapter, nonrefundable, nonprorateable application fees shall be submitted to the board by the applicant for all of the following services:
- compare State Law Enforcement Agency perform a state criminal history background check on the fingerprints submitted with the application to fingerprints filed with the Alabama Bureau of Investigation. On subsequent applications, the Alabama Bureau of Investigation State Law Enforcement Agency, at the request of the board, shall review its criminal history files based upon the name, date of birth, sex, race, and Social Security number of an applicant whose fingerprints have previously been submitted to the bureau for any new information since the date of the initial fingerprint comparison submission, and shall furnish any information thereby derived to the board.
- (2) A request to submit the fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a search of its files to determine whether an individual fingerprinted has any recorded convictions completion of a national criminal history background check.
- (b) After the approval of the application by the board, the board shall issue a license in a form prescribed by the



- 397 board to each qualified applicant upon its receipt of a
 398 nonrefundable, nonprorateable private investigator license fee
 399 as set by the board.
- 400 (c)(1) If an application for a license is denied, the
 401 board shall notify the applicant in writing and specify the
 402 grounds for denial. If the grounds are subject to correction
 403 by the applicant, the notice shall so state and specify a
 404 reasonable period of time within which the applicant shall
 405 make the required correction.
 - (2) The applicant may submit an application for reconsideration to the board within 30 days from the date of receipt of the denial.
- 409 (d) The board shall issue a license to all licensees
 410 that shall be at least 8" x 10" in size and shall be displayed
 411 on a wall of the workplace of the licensee. This license All
 412 licenses and identification cards issued by the board shall be
 413 deemed property of the State of Alabama and subject to
 414 forfeiture to the state upon revocation."

415 "\$34-25B-14

406

407

- 416 (a) The board shall issue to every private investigator
 417 licensee and private investigator apprentice licensee an
 418 identification card, which shall be issued in credit card
 419 size, be permanently laminated, and contain all of the
 420 following information of the licensee:
- 421 (1) Name.
- 422 (2) Photograph.
- 423 (3) Physical characteristics.
- 424 (4) Private investigator's license number.



- 425 (5) Expiration date of license.
- 426 (b) The identification card shall be carried on the 427 person of the licensee when engaged in the activities of the 428 licensee.
- 429 (c) A private investigator licensee shall include his
 430 or her license number on all advertisements, brochures,
 431 stationary, letterhead, case reports, and business cards
 432 distributed or used by the private investigator."
- 433 "\$34-25B-17

444

445

446

447

- (a) All licenses issued or renewed under this chapter 434 435 article shall be valid for a period of two years from the date 436 month of issuance. The board shall provide mail to each 437 licensee with a renewal application, at his or her address of record, a notice of renewal at least 60 days prior to the 438 439 expiration of the his or her license. An application for renewal shall be available for download by the licensee on the 440 website of the board. A licensee shall report any change of 441 442 address to the board.
 - (b) Each application for renewal shall be reviewed for criminal convictions and civil fraud findings.
 - (c) An administrative late fee not exceeding two hundred dollars (\$200), as prescribed by the board, shall be assessed on any renewal application postmarked after the expiration date of the license.
- (d) No A renewal application may not be accepted by the

 board more than 30 days after the expiration date of the

 license. This subsection may be waived by the board for good

 cause.



- 453 (e) A licensee may request, in writing, for the board 454 to place his or her license on inactive status. The fees for 455 issuing and renewing an inactive status certificate shall be 456 established by rule of the board. The board shall also 457 provide, by rule, for the activities an inactive status 458 certificate holder may engage in, and for the procedure and 459 fees required to reinstate an inactive status license. Any 460 holder of an inactive status certificate who violates the 461 limitations of the certificate shall be subject to fines and 462 disciplinary action established by rule of the board."
- 463 "\$34-25B-18
- 464 (a) The board may suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue
 465 or renew any <u>private investigator</u> license issued by <u>it the</u>
 466 <u>board</u> upon finding that the holder or applicant has committed
 467 any of the following acts:
- 468 (1) A violation of this chapter or any rule promulgated
 469 adopted pursuant to this chapter.
- 470 (2) Fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation regarding an 471 application or license.
- 472 (3) Knowingly and willfully making a material
 473 misstatement in connection with an application for a license
 474 or renewal.
- 475 (4) A conviction by a court of competent jurisdiction 476 of a felony.
- 477 (5) A conviction by a court of competent jurisdiction 478 of a Class A misdemeanor, if the board finds that the 479 conviction reflects unfavorably on the fitness of the person 480 individual for the license.



- (6) The commission of any act which would have been cause for refusal to issue the license or identification card had it existed and been known to the board at the time of issuance.
 - (b) In addition to, or in lieu of, any other lawful disciplinary action under this section, the board may assess a civil penalty not exceeding two thousand dollars (\$2,000) for each violation.
 - (c) A license may be suspended for the remaining license period and renewed during any period in which the license was suspended.
 - (d) Any entity or individual who operates, provides services, or advertises the provision of private investigator services without a license as required by this chapter shall be subject to an administrative fine of up to one thousand dollars (\$1,000) per day that those services are provided or advertised and may be administratively enjoined by the board from providing services or advertising until in compliance with this chapter."

500 "\$34-25B-21

The board shall <u>provide</u> <u>routinely publish and update</u> a copy of this chapter and any rules <u>promulgated</u> <u>adopted</u> under this chapter to the <u>following</u>: on the website of the board.

- (1) Each licensee, upon issuance of an original license, and every two years thereafter upon license renewal.
- 506 (2) Any other person, upon request, for a reasonable
 507 fee established by the board."

508 "\$34-25B-22



- (a) The following acts when committed by an individual licensed as a private investigator in Alabama or a private investigator apprentice, or employed by or contracting with a private investigation agency, shall constitute a violation punishable as a Class A misdemeanor:
 - (1) To knowingly make a material misrepresentation as to the ability of the individual to perform the investigation required by a potential client in order to obtain employment.
 - (2) To make unsubstantiated monetary charges to a client for services not rendered or transportation not utilized.
 - (3) To knowingly make a false report to a client in relation to the investigation performed for a client.
 - (4) To continue an investigation for a client when it becomes obvious to the investigator that a successful completion of an investigation is unlikely without first advising the client and obtaining the approval of the client for continuation of the investigation.
- 527 (5) To reveal information obtained for a client during 528 an investigation to another individual except as required by 529 law.
- 530 (b) Persons Individuals licensed pursuant to this
 531 chapter shall report any suspected instances of child abuse or
 532 neglect to a local law enforcement agency or the Department of
 533 Human Resources, or both."
- 534 "\$34-25B-26

515

516

517

518

519

520

521

522

523

524

525

526

535 (a) Each <u>private investigator</u> licensee shall complete
536 <u>eight</u> 16 hours of continuing professional education, including



- 537 <u>two hours of ethics instruction</u>, acceptable to the board in
 538 each <u>calendar year</u> two-year renewable licensing period.
- (b) The board shall make every effort to ensue at least
 one seminar per year will be held in each congressional
 district of the state providing an opportunity to fulfill the
 continuing professional education requirements of this
 section, which shall include at least one hour per year on
- 545 (c) (b) The board shall <u>promulgate</u> adopt rules <u>as</u>
 546 necessary to <u>carry out</u> implement this section."
- Section 3. Section 34-25B-12.1 is added to the Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:
- 549 \$34-25B-12.1

ethics.

- 550 (a) An individual may obtain a license as a private
 551 investigator apprentice and work under the supervision of a
 552 private investigator.
- (b) An applicant for a private investigator apprentice license shall meet all of the following criteria to obtain a license:
- 556 (1) Be at least 18 years of age.
- 557 (2) Be a high school graduate, have earned a GED
 558 certification, or have completed other equivalent education as
 559 determined suitable by the board.
- 560 (3) Meet the requirements of subdivisions (2) to (5), 561 inclusive, of Section 34-25B-12.
- 562 (c) An individual issued a private investigator
 563 apprentice license shall successfully pass an examination
 564 required by the board, which shall be taken during a time



period designated by rule of the board, not sooner than 45
days after initial licensure. Before taking the examination, a
private investigator apprentice licensee may begin working as
an intern. If the examination is not successfully passed by
the deadline set by rule of the board, the private
investigator apprentice license may be suspended until such
time that a passing grade has been achieved.

- (d) (1) A private investigator apprentice shall be trained under the supervision of a sponsor private investigator who has at least two years' experience as a licensed private investigator in this state and who is certified by the board as a sponsor. The board may charge a one-time certification fee per sponsor, not exceeding fifty dollars (\$50), and may, by rule, establish standards for certification, refusing certification, reporting of apprentices sponsored, and documentation required for sponsorships.
- (2) Supervision of a private investigator apprentice may be in person, by telephone, or by other form of electronic communication and oversight. A sponsor may not act as a sponsor for more than five private investigator apprentices at one time. A sponsor shall maintain records of training activities as required by the board, by rule, and shall make those records available to the board upon request. Failure of a sponsor to maintain adequate records may result in the revocation of his or her sponsor certification.
 - (e) A private investigator apprentice shall have three years to complete his or her internship. An internship shall



593 consist of both of the following:

- (1) The successful completion of a minimum number of hours of experience in the field and classroom training, not exceeding 300 hours, as established by board rule. Classroom instruction shall be provided by a certified trainer and shall include instruction in administrative functions, including report writing and research.
- (2) The successful completion of a minimum of eight hours per year of continuing education credit, as administered by the Alabama Private Investigators Association, or other certified provider of continuing education approved by the board. The coursework shall include instruction in investigations and a minimum of two hours of ethics training annually, and may include business operations training.
- (f) To qualify for a license as a private investigator, a private investigator apprentice licensee shall submit proof of successful completion of an internship pursuant to this section and shall pay the applicable license fee to the board.
- (g) A private investigator apprentice licensee who does not complete an internship within three years after being issued a private investigator apprentice license shall be required to reapply for a new private investigator apprentice license. A private investigator apprentice license shall be renewed annually during an internship. Any education and training experience completed during a previous internship shall be credited toward completing a new internship. A private investigator apprentice licensee may obtain a copy of his or her training records from the sponsoring private



- investigator. A sponsor who fails to provide training records, as requested, may have his or her sponsor certification
- 623 revoked or be fined by the board, or both.
- (h) A private investigator apprentice licensee may only
 perform work under the supervision of a certified sponsor and
 may not advertise or perform any private investigation
 services for the general public outside of that supervision.
- (i) If a private investigator apprentice is instructed
 by a sponsor to perform any action that violates this chapter,
 both the private investigator apprentice and the sponsor may
 be held responsible by the board. The private investigator
 apprentice licensee shall be responsible for identifying any
 conflicts of interest on assigned case work and notifying the
 sponsor of any conflict.
- Section 4. Article 2, commencing with Section

 34-25B-50, is added to Chapter 25B of Title 34 of the Code of

 Alabama 1975, to read as follows:
- ARTICLE 2. Private Investigation Agencies.
- 639 \$34-25B-50

- (a) (1) A business entity and its agents, officers, and
 employees, whether domiciled within or outside of this state,
 which employ or subcontract with private investigators, may
 not practice, advertise, or hold themselves out to the public
 as a private investigation agency without first being licensed
 by the board. A violation of this subsection by an applicant
 or a licensee shall be punishable as a Class A misdemeanor.
 - (2) This subsection does not prevent a business entity domiciled outside of this state from contracting with a



- 649 private investigation agency domiciled within this state, but
- 650 requires any private investigator doing contract work for a
- 651 business entity domiciled outside of this state, that is not
- licensed in this state, to register as a private investigation
- agency.
- (b) Commencing on January 1, 2024, no business entity
- 655 that conducts private investigations for compensation in this
- state, and employs private investigators in this state, may
- operate without a license.
- 658 \$34-25B-51
- (a) Application for a license as a private
- investigation agency shall be made in writing to the board, on
- forms prescribed by the board, and shall include all of the
- 662 following information:
- 663 (1) The name of the applicant.
- (2) The business name and physical and email address of
- 665 the applicant.
- (3) A telephone number and other contact information
- for the applicant.
- (4) If the applicant is not a domestic business entity
- 669 in the state, the name and contact information for the
- 670 registered agent of the applicant for service of process.
- (5) The name, address, and contact information of a
- 672 principal contact for the applicant.
- 673 (6) The name, address, and contact information for at
- 674 least one officer or principal of the company who holds a
- of valid private investigator license in this state.
- 676 (7) An irrevocable uniform consent to service of



- 677 process.
- 678 (8) A designated physical address where the records of 679 the applicant shall be kept.
- 680 (9) Any other information required by the board and reasonably necessary to grant licensure, as established by rule of the board.
- (b) Upon receipt of a properly completed application
 and payment of a license fee as provided in this subsection,
 the board shall issue the applicant a private investigation
 agency license.
- 687 (1) For a private investigation agency domiciled within this state, the license fee and renewal fee shall be in an 688 amount determined by the board, not exceeding fifty dollars 689 690 (\$50) for a private investigation agency that employs or 691 contracts with not more than two licensed private investigators, and not exceeding two hundred dollars (\$200) 692 693 for a private investigation agency that employs or contracts 694 with three or more licensed private investigators.
 - (2) For a private investigation agency domiciled outside of this state, the license fee shall be in an amount determined by the board, not exceeding five hundred dollars (\$500).
- (c) A private investigation agency license shall be
 valid for two years from the month of issuance and may be
 renewed upon payment of the license fee provided in subsection
 (b) and the satisfaction of any other reasonable requirement
 established by rule by the board.
- 704 \$34-25B-52

696

697



- 705 (a) The board shall issue to each private investigation 706 agency licensee a certification, which shall be at least 8" x 707 10" in size and shall contain the following information:
 - (1) The name of the private investigation agency.
- 709 (2) The physical address of the private investigation 710 agency.
- 711 (3) The license number.

- 712 (4) The expiration date of the license.
- 713 (b) The certification card shall be posted in a 714 conspicuous area at the physical address of the private 715 investigation agency.
- 716 (c) The private investigation agency shall display the 717 agency license number on all advertisements, brochures, 718 stationary, letterhead, case reports, and business cards, 719 distributed or used by the private investigation agency. Any invoice generated for professional services performed by the 720 721 private investigation agency or a private investigator 722 licensee, contractor, or employee of the private investigation 723 agency shall include the license number for each licensee 724 whose services are being compensated for by a consumer and the 725 time being charged by the private investigator licensee, 726 contractor, or employee of the private investigation agency.

727 \$34-25B-53

728 (a) The board shall mail to each private investigation
729 agency licensee a notice of renewal at least 60 days prior to
730 the expiration of the license. An application for renewal
731 shall be available for download by the licensee on the website
732 of the board. A licensee shall report any change of address to



- 733 the board.
- 734 (b) An administrative late fee, not exceeding two
- 735 hundred dollars (\$200) as prescribed by rule of the board,
- 736 shall be assessed on any renewal application postmarked after
- 737 the expiration date of the license.
- 738 (c) A renewal application may not be accepted by the
- 739 board more than 30 days after the expiration date of the
- 740 license. This subsection may be waived by the board for good
- 741 cause.
- 742 \$34-25B-54
- 743 The board shall adopt rules as necessary to implement
- 744 this article.
- 745 Section 5. Although this bill would have as its purpose
- 746 or effect the requirement of a new or increased expenditure of
- 747 local funds, the bill is excluded from further requirements
- 748 and application under Section 111.05 of the Constitution of
- 749 Alabama of 2022, because the bill defines a new crime or
- 750 amends the definition of an existing crime.
- 751 Section 6. This act shall become effective on the first
- day of the third month following its passage and approval by
- 753 the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.