## SB190 INTRODUCED



- 1 MR8K1H-1
- 2 By Senators Hovey, Price (N & P)
- 3 RFD: Local Legislation
- 4 First Read: 06-Apr-23

5



1	
2	
3	
4	A BILL
5	TO BE ENTITLED
6	AN ACT
7	
8	
9	Relating to Lee County; to amend Section 45-41-242.06,
10	Code of Alabama 1975, to change the name of the Auburn-Opelika
11	Convention and Visitors Bureau to Auburn-Opelike Tourism; and
12	to further provide for the membership and operation of
13	Auburn-Opelika Tourism.
14	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:
15	Section 1. Section 45-41-242.06, Code of Alabama 1975,
16	is amended to read as follows:
17	"§45-41-242.06
18	(a) There shall be created and established <u>a bureau</u>
19	known as the Auburn-Opelika Convention and Visitors
20	Bureau Tourism.
21	(b) The bureau shall be composed of five the following
22	board members:-
23	(1) The <del>judge of probate</del> Chair of the Lee County
2 4	<pre>Commission or his or her appointee;</pre>
25	(2) the mayors or their appointees from the Cities of
26	Auburn and Opelika; and one The Mayor of the City of Auburn or
27	his or her appointee.
28	(3) The Mayor of the City of Opelika or his or her

## SB190 INTRODUCED



29	appointee.
30	(4) An employee from of Auburn University, appointed by
31	the President of Auburn University; and the four board
32	members shall select a fifth member.
33	(5) The President of the Auburn Chamber of Commerce or
34	his or her appointee.
35	(6) The President of the Opelika Chamber of Commerce or
36	his or her appointee.
37	(7) An additional member chosen by the other voting
38	members of the board.
39	(8) The mayor or his or her designee of any other
40	municipality in Lee County that contains an entity that is
41	required to pay a lodging tax.
42	(9) The Lee County Extension Agent, who shall be an
43	ex-officio membera non-voting member. The Executive Director
44	of the Auburn Chamber of Commerce and the Executive Director
45	of the Opelika Chamber of Commerce shall serve as ex-officio
46	members.
47	(10) Two non-voting members appointed by the voting
48	members of the board from the local tourism industry.
49	(b) (c) The newly elected board of directors' membership
50	Each appointed member of the board shall serve at the pleasure
51	of the his or her appointing authorities authority."
52	Section 2. This act shall become effective on the first
53	day of the third month following its passage and approval by

the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.