

1 10WP33-1

2	By Senators Allen, Albritton, Barfoot, Beasley, Bell, Butler,
3	Carnley, Chambliss, Chesteen, Coleman, Coleman-Madison,
4	Elliott, Figures, Givhan, Gudger, Hatcher, Hovey, Jones,
5	Kelley, Livingston, Melson, Orr, Price, Reed, Roberts,
6	Scofield, Sessions, Shelnutt, Singleton, Smitherman, Stewart,
7	Stutts, Waggoner, Weaver, Williams
8	RFD:
9	First Read: 17-Jul-23
10	2023 Second Special Session



1

2

3

4 SJR___ COMMENDING GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF ALABAMA ON ITS 175 5 YEARS OF OUTSTANDING SERVICE TO THE STATE OF ALABAMA.

6

7 WHEREAS, the Alabama Legislature, recognizing the 8 importance of the role of geology and geologically related 9 natural resources to the future prosperity and growth of the 10 state, established the Office of the State Geologist of 11 Alabama in a Joint Resolution signed by Governor Reuben 12 Chapman on January 4, 1848; and

WHEREAS, geoscientific endeavor is fundamentally important to societal well-being and resilience and essential to identifying, delineating, developing, and conserving Alabama's abundant but finite mineral, energy, biological, and water resources; and

18 WHEREAS, geoscientific knowledge and input are 19 necessary for our citizens and policymakers to make wise 20 decisions regarding land management and land use, are 21 integral for protection and preservation of ecosystems, 22 habitats, and environmentally sensitive areas, and provide 23 the basis for understanding and mitigating natural hazards 24 and fostering resilience; and

25 WHEREAS, the Geological Survey of Alabama, the oldest 26 scientific agency of the State of Alabama, has published 27 more than 1,250 reports and maps, thereby contributing to 28 the prosperity, economy, and future of the state by

SJR5 INTRODUCED



29 providing the citizens and policymakers of Alabama and other 30 stakeholders with accurate information on Alabama's 31 important mineral, water, energy, and biological resources; 32 and

33 WHEREAS, in its 175-year history, the Geological 34 Survey of Alabama has had eight state geologists who have 35 provided dedication, foresight, and longevity, as well as 36 continuity of service to the citizens of Alabama; and

37 WHEREAS, this tradition of dedicated service to the 38 people of Alabama was initiated by Michael Tuomey and has 39 been continued by his seven successors, Eugene Allen Smith, 40 Walter B. Jones, Philip E. LaMoreaux, Thomas J. Joiner, 41 Ernest A. Mancini, Donald F. Oltz, and present State 42 Geologist, Berry H. "Nick" Tew, Jr.; and

WHEREAS, the corps of dedicated, talented, and skilled employees of the Geological Survey of Alabama work daily to keep Alabama in the forefront of science, technology, and information that is critical to Alabama's future success and prosperity; and

WHEREAS, the Geological Survey of Alabama, its dedicated staff, and friends and stakeholders of the agency are proud to celebrate 175 years of service to the great State of Alabama; now therefore,

52 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH 53 HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That highest commendation is 54 hereby extended to the Geological Survey of Alabama, its 55 officers, and staff members, and, by copy of this



- 56 resolution, we offer our sincere best wishes for continued
- 57 success.